lift me up, buttercup, baby.

Anxiety weighs the heart down,
but a cheerful word lifts it up.
Proverbs 12.25.
Lately, I have been feeling like a total wreck. It seems like EVERYTHING, and I mean EVERYTHING, is so quick to weigh me down. I feel like I am constantly letting someone down, failing my own standards, and disappointing God.
I beat myself up even for having a hiccup.
I am my own worst critic.
And as cliche as that phrase is, it is even more factual.
I need some encouragement.
There is therefore now NO CONDEMNATION
for those who are in Christ Jesus.
Romans 8:1
I have memorized this verse. But my heart hasn’t. And it is a problem.
It wasn’t until yesterday when my precious husband quite literally forced me to sit down and stare at our amazing “NO CONDEMNATION” stone we have in our room. It was a wedding gift from two of our dearest, most special and beautiful friends. They gave it to us to remind us that we don’t have ANY condemnation with Christ and to live in the freedom He gives us.
But I have just passed it by so many times with my eyes shut and heart closed.
My sweetheart sat me down in front of it yesterday and told me I needed to look at it until it started to sink in. And he kissed my head, and before he left, told me “start with the question, “Do I WANT to get better?”” and he left.
I am still trying to figure out that answer.
I do WANT to be better, but putting in work seems like such a burden.
Come to me, all who are weary and burdened,
and I WILL GIVE YOU REST.
Matthew 11:28
This is a great promise that I need to cling on to.
I am sure I am not the only person struggling with these kind of things.
And I can’t reserve my blog entries for only the times when “I have it all figured out,” because that doesn’t make me a friend. That puts myself in some sort of rockstar position where you look UP to me, instead of AT me. And is not fair to you, to me, or to anyone.  How can I possibly help lift anyone up if I don’t talk about how much I need to be lifted up?
I can’t fake it with you.
So here is today’s entry:
Christ loves me.
He loves you too.
And we aren’t condemned.
Let’s try to take that to heart
TODAY.
Let’s just focus on TODAY.
Do not worry about tomorrow, let tomorrow worry about itself,
each day has enough trouble of its own.
Matthew 6:34
ONE DAY, ONE STEP, ONE MOMENT AT A TIME.
In love,
beloved_bride
The Spirit you received does not make you slaves, so that you live in fear again; rather, the Spirit you received brought about your adoption to sonship. And by him we cry, “Abba, Father.”
Romans 8:15
Leave a Reply

