I choose option B: freakishly large face-consuming smile.

Image

I don’t know how to write this guy’s expression out in words..

upset? disappointed? unhappy?

Maybe he wanted a sausage croissant without the sausage from the Jack in the Box but they put it on there anyways (because of course, Jack in the Box doesn’t have just a good ol “an egg and cheese croissant”)

(and no, that was not an original statement just for this “I am not somewhere over the rainbow” not-smiling man…. that is MY usual strange inquiry when I get to the “can I take your order?” box)

Maybe he wanted the kid’s menu sized pancake and egg combo because he wasn’t that hungry but IHOP wouldn’t let him. The same exact menu item was also in the Senior section of the menu… but neither child or senior could apply to him.

(makes me laugh out loud because this is exactly what happened to my sweet husband one day… hee hee, poor guy.)

Maybe this dude is just someone who is hard to please in general.

Maybe he is just a grouchy dude most of the time.

I don’t know.

But I do know this!

I choose

Image

I choose this rather large freakishly face-consuming smile!

I think we all know people who tend to be a little cranky no matter the weather or time of the week.

The grocery store check-out woman, the man on the other end of the phone line, the person who honks, honks at you for not going the SECOND the left-hand turn lane arrow turns green. I think we all know what I mean.

But as Michael & Roz (Stephen’s & my closest friends) have told us a thousand times…

choose not to let it get on you.

They’ve taught us that:

even if someone throws a baseball to you, you can CHOOSE to catch it or not. You don’t HAVE to catch the ball if you don’t want it.

Nothing has to get on me, I don’t have to catch anything,

IF I DON’T WANT IT!

I don’t HAVE to catch it!

Talk about freedom!

And of course, our great Lord Jesus makes sure to also give us a warning on catching it..

Do not be deceived, bad company corrupts good character.

1 Corinthians 15:33

 We can’t let someone else rob us of the joy in our day.

We can, of course, be as miserable as we want to be.

As we, ourselves, choose to be.

“Everyone is as happy as they make up their minds to be.”

Abraham Lincoln

Do you want to live like that today?

I know I don’t.

So next time we are hanging out with the Scrooge who will be featured in the sequel, the real Grumpy who, this time, doesn’t even melt at Snow White’s kiss, or the person who just doesn’t use the kindest of words no matter what you have done or haven’t done,

Let’s not catch it as if it were the flu.

Let’s forgive them.

& Let’s smile.

I’ve heard a thousand times that it takes more muscles to frown than it does to smile.

I believe that to be true.

I choose this great big smile to define my day today no matter where I go, what I do, or who I come across!

Will you?

in love,

beloved_bride

ImageAnd who knows….

maybe we can get mister grumpy-gills to laugh like this.

And even if we don’t,

we can!

🙂

“live. laugh. LOVE.

today.

Leave a Reply

